Family Camping July 2017

After  a week of having these pages sitting on my desk. I sat down last night and finished them.

I think my process changes every time I work on a page.

IMG_7476 (Edited)

We took our kids camping two weekends ago now for the first time just the two of us and our boys.  I really want to capture these moments because growing up some of my fondest memories are going camping in the summer, and I want my kids to have those experiences and memories too.

To start this I printed out all the pictures I wanted to include then I laid them out on my pocket pages that I decided to use. Then I picked all the paper and patterned paper and I used the Polka dot pattern paper as my main paper to coordinate with. I love that paper. It comes from the Coffee break designer series paper (144155). The green paper with hearts is that same paper just the back side of it. I love  how Stampin’ up papers coordinate so well together.

Once I had it all laid out I walked away from it, and wouldn’t you know that one of my cats decided to jump down from her perch and strewed the right side of my page. I had pieces on the floor and nothing was where I had originally placed it. Do you think I could remember how I had it?  Not a chance… oh well.. I put it back together.

I absolutely love die cut words and using them on my page, like in the bottom left hand corner the word adorable. I had used that a lot in my December daily album and then forgot about it, and because I put my Christmas stuff in a different location it was out of side and out of mind, but I was showing my sister in law my albums on the weekend and it was brought back to my mind so I hauled it out and used it.

IMG_7477 (Edited)

I don’t use a lot of embellishments on my pages. I like to keep things more simple. Like the little hearts, and the tag I made on the top right hand corner just added a touch of texture to this page.

All of the journalling cards I used on this page were from Stampin’ up’s new Memories and More cards. This set is called one perfect day and can be found here .  I love how cheap they are. I have every set except the bundle of love set which is on my list for my next purchase.

IMG_7478 (Edited)

I am obsessed with watching process videos to learn what other scrappers do to make their pages. I would never have thought to cut up my journalling cards to embellish my pictures. For instance in the middle bottom pocket of this page. I cut the phrase “today was a good day” from a card.   The tree in the top left I die cut (another christmas set that is unfortunately retired) and I love how it all tied together. I think this page is my new favorite……. until the next one.

 

Anyway… Thank you for reading and checking out my blog. I hope I’ve inspired you.

One thought on “Family Camping July 2017

Leave a Reply

